What is with the double take? I don’t get it.

A little while ago I was hanging out with freinds. We were playing fibbage and chatting. I don’t remember how it came up in conversation, but at one point I let the words “feminist” and “I am” slip out of my mouth in the same sentence. The look on my friend’s face would have been more suitable for my having slapped him across the face. He asked me “Really? You?!” I am not sure what he found so surprising. Did I do something or act in a way that indicated I was not feminist? I know I don’t own a “not a feminist” t-shirt. Or is it really that horrible of a word?

I don’t get it.

AzizAnsari_feminist

2 thoughts on “What is with the double take? I don’t get it.

  1. ratherbeanon says:

    i love Aziz’s quote. My friends reacted the same exact way and when I explained to them what it was, they still didn’t want to call themselves “it.” Why is everyone so afraid of a word?!

  2. Hilarious quote! The word “feminist” seems to have gotten such a bad rap lately. I’m always shocke that women wanting equal rights is a bad thing. That’s what it means to be a feminist.

Leave a Reply

