Dear restorative yoga, I am sorry I made fun of you. Please be my friend.

cobra-dog

I have blogged before about how Yoga is not really my thing. I do a bit here and there in an effort to work on my flexibility. Flexibility is that thing I want more of, but personally hate working on. When I am short on time at the gym stretching post workout is the first thing to go out the window. I know all the reasons why this is bad. I know that after a workout when I am all warm is the best time for some gentle stretching. But I just don’t like it. It is boring and I am not very good at it. My attempts at Yoga have always been intended to get me to stretch and spend some time working on flexibility. My thinking always was that maybe I will spend more time on something structured like a yoga class. But I am still really spotty about practicing. There were only a hand full of yoga routines that I found on youtube awhile back that I really liked (all hosted by Colleen Saidman). I have been looking around more more, but I never found others that I liked until just recently. (I don’t have much patience for stuff that is overly new agey.)

I am finding Sara Beth Yoga (see link in Sites I Like) routines very enjoyable. Sara Beth’s routines are short (yay!) ranging from around 10 min to 30 min. This is perfect for me since my attention span maxes out between 20 and 30 minutes. There are a good variety of yoga types, hatha, power, and restorative yoga are all featured. I prefer the hatha yoga routines over the power yoga. Then I tried the restorative yoga. I knew this type of yoga existed, but me with my iron pumping, lift more, work harder mentality I never considered it before. (I mean really a workout with a pillow? What the hell is that?)

I have always had some kind of back pain. Exercise in general has always helped me deal with this. Yoga helped a little more, but the restorative yoga is by far the most. My RMT tells me I have big knot in my left side. I only ever feel said knot when she tries to work it out. The restorative yoga let me relax my muscles enough that I was able to feel for the first time on my own what a problem area my left side is. (It stayed knotted even when I managed to relax the rest of me a respectable amount.)

I was so happy with all new yoga options I found I set myself a mini two week challenge. My challenge is to do 15 min of spinning followed by 15 min of yoga every morning for two weeks. Sara Beth even has a lovely one week yoga challenge posted with a 15 min session for each day of the week. So to keep my challenge simple I am just repeating this twice back to back. She switches up the styles so I get some of what I love, but still have to work on the power yoga that I love less because I am terrible at it. (I lose my balance a lot. It is not graceful or pretty to watch.) In the evenings if my back hurts I can do one of the 20 min deep stretches. (With a pillow! So perfectly appropriate before bed.) I am already noticing that all the hip openers are translating into improved range of motion in my squats. 🙂

Leave a Reply

